A user who is allowed to edit a page during an active workflow.
A workflow participant refers to any user who has edit permissions on a page in an active workflow. This includes all reviewers in that workflow and anyone with explicit edit permissions for that page or space.
During a Publishing Workflow, any workflow participant may make edits to the page, though only reviewers may approve or return the workflow steps.
Non-workflow participants can only view the published version of the page, if one exists.