A workflow that is automatically applied to a page after creation or modification.
An automatic workflow is immediately applied to a page upon its creation or upon the first modification following completion of a workflow. There can be only one automatic workflow in a space.
If a Publishing Workflow is selected to be automatic, that means any newly created pages or page edits following workflow completion are then required to go through the workflow before the page or edits are published and visible to persons outside of the workflow (i.e. persons who are not reviewers). Removing a workflow on a page will publish the page.